The Province of Matera

The province of Matera has a surface area of 3,446 sq. kilometres and has a population density of 59,1 inhabitants/sq. kilometre. There are 31 municipalities in the Province of Matera for a total of about 200,000 inhabitants: Accettura, Aliano, Bernalda, Calciano, Cirigliano, Colobraro, Craco, Ferrandina, Garaguso, Gorgoglione, Grassano, Grottole, Irsina, Matera, Miglionico, Montalbano Jonico, Montescaglioso, Nova Siri, Oliveto Lucano, Pisticci, Policoro, Pomarico, Rotondella, Salandra, San Giorgio Lucano, San Mauro Forte, Scanzano Jonico, Stigliano, Tricarico, Tursi and Valsinni.

The eastern part of the province faces the Ionian Sea; to the north lies Apulia (the Province of Bari and the Province of Taranto), the Province of Potenza is to the west and it borders Calabria (the Province of Cosenza) to the south.

The area is rich in tourist attractions. The Ionian coastline is famous for its pristine beaches, for its history and artefacts dating back to Magna Grecia and for its wholesome, delicious cuisine.

The hill upon which Matera is built bears witness to its rich historical, artistic and cultural past. The towns in the Materan hinterland boast exquisitely beautiful architectural gems and the landscape is enchanting and varied. Matera is the capital of the province and is one of the most interesting sites of cave dwellings in the world, a unique cityscape of buildings carved out of tufa stone. The Sassi district of Matera is a rare example of ‘negative’ architecture, utterly unique. The towns in the Provincial district of Matera still maintain lively cultural lives of popular traditions, with a wealth of artistic and cultural events of national and international renown. 

copyright © 2015 - - Provincia di Matera - Via Ridola, 60 - 75100 Matera
Codice Fiscale: 80000970774 - Designed by Creatree -

logo grigio   logo1 Taranto port authority   logo2

Privacy Policy - Cookie Policy